A Number of African Presidents To Attend Ruto’s Inauguration

A number of Heads of States have confirmed that they will attend the inauguration of President-elect William Ruto on Tuesday.

They include Uganda’s Yoweri Museveni, Samia Suluhu of Tanzania, Felix Tshisekedi of DRC and Hassan Sheikh of Somalia.

The speaker of Algeria Ibrahim Boughali, former German president Christian Wuf, UK’s minister for Commonwealth Vicky Ford and India’s minister for external affairs Vellamvelli Muraleedharan will also be present.

Other leaders who have confirmed attendance are representatives of the United Nations, Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, Commonwealth, Intergovernmental Authority on Development, African Union and European Union (EU).

Meanwhile, the United States has announced that a presidential delegation shall be in attendance at the swearing-in ceremony of President-elect William Ruto on Tuesday.

In a statement, President Joe Biden confirmed that 5 members of the delegation shall attend the inauguration led by US Trade Representative Katherine Tai.

This comes as Interior Principal Secretary Karanja Kibicho says 2,500 VIPs are also expected to grace the occasion.

“A lot of our VIPs have been gracious enough to agree that we do common pooling, and therefore we shall be announcing designated areas where these VIPs will be picked,” he said.

“We will have 10,000 police officers around here ensuring that there is order and that everyone is safe,” he added.

Members of the public will be expected to be seated at the stadium at 7AM for the ceremony that starts at 10AM.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.