President Ruto presides over the swearing-in of 50 CAS nominees

President Ruto [KBC]

Head of State William Ruto has presided over the swearing-in of 50 Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) nominees.

The nominees took the oath of office without being vetted by the National Assembly.

This is after Speaker of National Assembly Moses Wetangula on Wednesday wrote back to the President, saying there is no constitutional requirement for the nominees to be vetted.

“In that regard, the National Assembly is unable to vet the nominees in the absence of an express constitutional or statutory requirement to do so,” said Wetangula.

Among those sworn in is Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero (Trade Ministry), Catherine Waruguru (Foreign Affairs Ministry), Wilson Sossion (Tourism Ministry), Isaac Mwaura (Office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary) and Nicholas Gumbo (Transport Ministry) among others.

Ruto’s CASs are a significant increase from former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s administration which had 26 in number.

The Law Society of Kenya (LSK) went to court to stop the nomination of the CASs, saying it is against what the Head of Public Service applied for, and had the Public Service Commission declare 23 vacancies in that position.

According to PSC some of the functions of a Chief Administrative Secretary include; responding to issues touching on the portfolio assigned to the office, providing liaison with the National Assembly and Senate, providing liaison with County Governments on matters of concurrent mandate and providing inter-ministerial coordination among others.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.