President Uhuru to receive names of IEBC selection panel nominees

President Uhuru Kenyatta is expected to receive the list of nominees to the selection panel that will recruit four IEBC commissioners.

The Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC), chaired by National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi, will submit the names to the President for appointment.

The selection panel will be tasked with welcoming applications then shortlist before holding interviews of candidates.

The selection panel as per the IEBC Act of 2020 shall consist of two men and two women nominated by the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC) chaired by National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi.

It will also have one person nominated by the Law Society of Kenya (LSK) and two persons nominated by the inter-religious council of Kenya.

Parsons qualified for the panel must meet chapter six of the constitution requirement on integrity .

On April 14,President Kenyatta declared the positions vacant following the resignation of four IEBC commissioners after the disputed 2017 presidential elections.

Among those who resigned include Consolata Nkatha Maina, Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat.

Roselyn Akombe resigned earlier before the 2017 general election .

She threw in the towel on official duty in Dubai were she had gone to inspectthe printing of ballot papers.

She later flew to the US from Dubai after claiming that her life was in danger.

The three current commissioners are Chair Wafula Chebukati and commissioners Abdi Guliye and Boya Mulu.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.