Section of ODM MPs to face disciplinary action

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) has commenced disciplinary action against four of its MPs, who supported the passing of the Finance Bill 2023 to its Third Reading.

The MPs include; Nairobi Woman Rep Esther Passaris, Wajir South MP Aden Adow Mohamed, Suba South MP Caroli Omondi and Gem MP Elisha Odhiambo.

In a statement, ODM says it will also take disciplinary action against 24 lawmakers, who were absent during the Finance Bill debate on Tuesday, including Embakasi East MP Babu Owino.

Others are John Mbadi nominated MP, Said Buya Hiribae (Galole), Mohamed Abdikadir Hussein (Lagdera),  Paul Ekwom Nabuin (Turkana North) and John Namoit Ariko (Turkana South).

“In line with the Party’s disciplinary rules, notices to show cause disciplinary action should not be taken have been issued to the members. They are expected to respond within the next 48 hours,” the statement read.

176 MPs supported the bill, which was in its second reading stage.

Only 81 MPs opposed the Bill.

Meanwhile, Nairobi Woman Rep Esther Passaris has defended herself, saying she voted for the Finance bill because the government cannot work without money.

“I want to tell Kenyans; both those who voted for me and those who did not, immediately we are sworn in as MPs, we swear to work for everyone, not only those who voted for us,” she noted.

“Huwezi kusema wale ambao wamekaa hapa wa Kenya Kwanza hawafikirii watu wao. We are thinking about our people they are thinking about their own.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.