Kenya Kwanza Unveils 7-Member Team For Bipartisan Talks With Azimio

National Assembly majority leader Kimani Ichungwah today unveiled The Kenya Kwanza coalition  individuals who will represent the government in negotiations with the opposition After a  parliamentary group meeting chaired by president william Ruto at statehouse Nairobi. 

The team led by  Tharaka Mp George Murugara ,Nominated Senator Esther Okenyuri ,Kibwezi West MP Mwengi Mutuse,Taita Taveta Women Rep Lydia Haika,Bomet Senator Hillary Sigei, Eldas MP Adan Keynan ,will spearhead the bi-partisan talks with the seven-member team that was also announced by Azimio la Umoja coalition leader Raila Odinga last week.

Speaking at State House on Tuesday, National Assembly Majority Leader Ichungwa Kimani said that the government will not give in to pressure to implement failed policies of the last regime.

“As a PG we resist any attempts to force or blackmail the government to implement the failed policies of the last regime that drove the country into an economic mess, including corruption-ridden consumption subsidies, irresponsible borrowing and gross fiscal mismanagement, through state capture,” he said.

Ichungwa reaffirmed  their commitment to the rule of law and appreciated the role of the opposition in oversight and criticizing the government.

“The PG re-affirms our commitment to the rule of law and constitutionalism and appreciates the role of the opposition to oversight and criticize the government,” he said.

The Ruto- led coalition also called upon its colleagues in the Opposition to adhere to the rule of law and constitutionalism and pursue all issues of concern through established institutions under the constitution.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.