Appoint Polished IEBC Commissioners, CJ Tells Selection Panel

Chief Justice Martha Koome has challenged the newly sworn-in IEBC selection panel members to provide the nation with commissioners who will meet Kenya’s aspirations.

Speaking during their swearing in, Koome cautioned the members that they are at the service of Kenyans and they must charge their mandate fairly and in accordance with the law.

Koome pleaded with the members to choose IEBC commissioners who would have high integrity, who are fair and who will fulfill the objectives of the Kenyans.

‘You are intended to be the major facilitator of the realization of an electoral body composition that is fair and just and that is done in accordance with the constitution,” she said.

In a gazette notice released on 27th of February, President William Ruto appointed the seven members that will lead the recruitment of nominees for appointments as the chairperson and members of IEBC commissioners.

They sworn-in include Bethuel Sugut and Novice Euralia Atieno from the Parliamentary Service Commission.

The Political Parties Liaison Committee will be represented by its chairman Evans Misati James, the Law Society of Kenya member is Benson Ngugi Njeri of Igeria and Ngugi advocates.

Others are Charity Kisotu, Nelson Makanda and Fatuma Saman.

The panel will recruit the next IEBC chairperson to succeed Wafula Chebukati who retired after serving his mandatory term and commissioners Boya Molu and Yakub Guliye who also completed their tenure.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.