Kenya Kwanza Parties Sign Their Coalition Agreement

[Photo: KBC]

The Kenya Kwanza Alliance parties have today signed their Coalition Agreement.

The coalition is made up of over 20 political parties including Deputy President William Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA) Party, Moses Wetangula’s Ford Kenya and Musalia Mudavadi’s Amani National Congress (ANC) among others.

Some of the parties that have officially joined the coalition today are the Farmers Party, Umoja Maendeleo Party and the Economic Freedom Party.

The Coalition Agreement will now be submitted to the Registrar of Political Parties.

According to Mudavadi who spoke over the weekend, Kenya Kwanza is not a coalition party but rather a coalition of parties, thus the 9th of April deadline to submit its document to the Registrar of Political Parties does not apply to it.

The coalition has settled on DP Ruto as its presidential candidate in the August Presidential Elections.

According to Ruto, the coalition is about the people and for the people, seeking to address the issues Kenyans are faced with such as Youth Unemployment.

“We have discussed long and hard about the priorities of our nation and we have come to the conclusion that we must change the fortune of our citizens,” he said.

Ruto then hit at the Azimio la Umoja Coalition saying it only seeks to change the constitution, to benefit those in government offices.

“This is an alliance of the willing, the alliance of the free. It’s about the people. That’s the difference with our competitors, their coalitions are of the intimidated, blackmailed, coerced and about leaders sharing power.” said the UDA Party leader.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.