IEBC confirms a second Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission has addressed the public on matters 2022 General polls.

The conference dubbed Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration occurred at Lake Naivasha Resort, Nakuru county.

According to IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati, Voter registration for citizens residing outside Kenya will start on 21st January-6th February. The commission will use BVR kits to capture details of the voters. A registered voter in diaspora will only vote for presidential elective position.

Chebukati says diaspora voter registration will be conducted in the Kenya embassies, high commissions and consulates in the foreign countries.

Additionally, biometric voter registration will be used to record biometric and biographic data. The voter agency confirms that those living in the diaspora but are currently in Kenya will be registered while in Kenya. 

The commission will use Biometric Voter Registration (BVR) kits to capture biometric and biographic details of voters,” said the IEBC boss.

He said the commission will extend the diaspora voter registration exercise to seven more countries including; the United Kingdom, Canada, the United States, South Sudan, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates and Germany.

This follows the announcement of a second Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration jointly with the diaspora voter registration.

Additionally, the National Registration Bureau will share the status of the National Identification cards issuance, since this informs the registration of persons as voters.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.