IEBC given strict timelines to pick its officials

The IEBC selection panel that is now chaired by Dr. Elizabeth Muli will expedite the recruitment exercise and forward names of qualified candidates to President Uhuru Kenyatta by June 9th 2021.

The appointment that took place yesterday was led by Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu swearing in 6 members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission selection panel.

The six sworn-in are; Elizabeth Muli, Farudin Suleiman, Elizabeth Meyo, Gideon Solonka, Awori James Achoka, and Father Joseph Mutie. 

Chair Elizabeth Muli stated the urgency in taking responsibility must be adhered to affirming commitment to work towards achieving the institution’s goals

Acting CJ Mwilu emphasized the importance of the role handed to the panel, citing they had the right to refuse appointment the same way they had an option on whether or not to take an oath.

She further directed the panel to bring forth a team with integrity in handling matters elections in the country.. 

The panel has been formed to fill vacancies of the 4 commissioners of the IEBC. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.