President Uhuru Kenyatta reshuffles Chief Administrative Secretaries

Feb, 18th 2021 – Head of the public service Joseph Kinyua has announced various responsibility reassignments and changes in the senior ranks of the executive.

President Uhuru Kenyatta has made the changes affecting eight principal secretaries and appointed eight new Chief Administrative Secretaries.

In the realignments, Dr. Belio Kipsang has been moved from Education to the State Department of Regional and Northern Corridor Development. He has been replaced by Dr. Julius Ouma who was PS for Vocational and Technical Training. This has been taken over by Dr. Margaret Mwakima who was PS for Northern Corridor.

The Head of State named the new CASs who include Eick Simiyu for National Treasury and Planning, Japheth Micheni for State Law Office and Department of Justice, Lawrence Omuhaka for Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Cooperatives, Dr. Sarah Ruto for Education replacing Zack Kinuthia, Zachary Ayieko for Lands and Physical planning, and David Osiany for Industrialization, Trade and Enterprise Development.

The President also announced the merging of the State Mining Department with that of Petroleum in new ministry changes.

The reshuffle is a presidential action that seeks to promote efficiency in the operations and implement various reforms that will make Ministries and State Departments more effective and better able to deliver on their mandates.

Other CASs re-assignments include Winnie Guchu for Interior and Coordination of National Government, Gideon Mung’aro for Devolution and The ASALs, Hassan Noor Hassan for Education, Zach Kinuthia for Sports, Culture and Heritage together with Simon Kachapin and Lina Kilimo for Public Service and Gender.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.