10 candidates shortlisted in Maraga’s succession

Feb, 17th 2021 – The judicial service commission has shortlisted 10 candidates for the position of chief justice. They include Justice Said Chitembwe, Philip Murgor, Prof Patricia Mbote, Justice Martha Koome, Justice Nduma Nderi, Justice Marete Njagi, Fred Ngatia, Justice William Ouko, Alice Yano, and Dr. Wekesa Moni.

According to an advert by the Judiciary Service Commission (JSC), a total of 13 names were received and 10 shortlisted.

Acting Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu and other supreme court judges did not apply for the job. The public has been asked to give their views on the candidates by 3rd March for consideration. Nine other candidates will be interviewed for the position of supreme court judge.

The Commission seeks to fill the position of the Chief Justice left vacant by Jusstice David Maraga and that of the Supreme Court of Kenya (SCOK) left by Justice Jackton Ojwang.

The process of appointing a new CJ officially began after Acting Chief Justice Philemona Mwilu issued a notice of vacancy in the seat.

The main functions of JSC is recommending candidates for appointment as judges to the President, review and recommend conditions of service of the judges and judicial officers.

The lucky candidate to fill the position of the Chief Justice will hold the office for a maximum of 10 years or upon attaining the age of 70. This is with the option of an early retirement upon attaining the age of 65 under the law.

Requirements for the position include a law degree from a recognized Institution, 15 years of experience as a superior court judge, high integrity, and moral character.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.