Kenya Waives ETA Fee for Ethiopians

Kenya has waived the fee for Ethiopians seeking Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) to enter the country. 

Bacha Debele Buta, Ethiopia’s Ambassador to Kenya, expressed gratitude for the decision, praising President William Ruto’s administration. 

“My heartfelt thanks and appreciation to the Government of Kenya for its prompt response and [the] kind decision to remove Ethiopian citizens from the Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) related electronic payment requirement,” he stated on Monday.

The move addresses concerns about the impact on the visa-free arrangement between Kenya and Ethiopia. 

President Ruto had announced a transition to a “visa-free” system on December 12, 2023, with the eTA requirement for all foreigners starting on January 1, 2024, allowing advanced identification and vetting. 

The Immigration Department received 5,000 eTA applications by January 5, marking the first wave of foreign arrivals.

A special Gazette notice issued by Interior and National Administration Cabinet Secretary Kithure Kindiki replaced the term “visa” with “Electronic Travel Authorization.”

Before the introduction of the eTA system, citizens from 51 countries enjoyed visa-free entry to Kenya, while travelers from 155 other countries had to undergo a visa application process costing USD50.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.