Ballon d’OR -Its Benzemaaa

Karim Benzema is the winner of the Ballon d’OR player of the year award.

The Real Madrid player overcame the challenge of Sadio Mane, Kevin de Bruyne,Robert Lewandowski and Mo Salah to bag the trophy.

Benzema scored 44 goals in 46 games as he helped Real win the Champions League and La Liga in 2021-22.

Benzema is the first Frenchman to win the prestigious award since Zinedine Zidane in 1998. Zidane was at the event to present his countryman with the prize.

Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mane, who was at Liverpool in 2021-22, was second ahead of Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne.

Barcelona captain Alexia Putellas has retained the Women’s Ballon d’Or.

Premier League champions Manchester City, who had six nominees at the ceremony, were awarded Club of the Year ahead of Liverpool.

Sadio Mane was awarded the Socrates Award that recognizes a player’s humanitarian achievements.

Robert Lewandowski took the Gerd Muller award awarded to the best striker .

The Ballon d’Or is voted for by 100 journalists from around the world.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.