Board members of 6 project agencies to be trimmed by Bill

The Regional Development Authority Bill of 2021, seeks to cut the number of board members from more than 15.

The boards of the six regional development authorities will be trimmed to 11 members if Parliament approves changes to the law.

If approved by Parliament, only three P’s responsible for regional development, finance and environment, will retain their seats in the boards of Kerio Valley, Lake Basin, Tana and Athi Rivers, Ewaso Ng’iro North and South and Coast Development Authorities.. 

At the same time, the Bill proposes to remove the principal secretaries in charge of agriculture, health, water and tourism or their representatives from the boards of the authorities.

It will also kick out the current representation of the provincial commission (now renamed regional commissioner) and chairpersons of State agencies like the Kenya Power from sitting in the board of directors.

Eight other persons appointed by the Cabinet Secretary responsible for regional development, all of whom shall be appointed from the area affected by operations of the authority.

“The principal objective of the Bill is to consolidate the laws relating to regional development. The Bill standardises the membership of the boards of each regional development authority to 11members in line with best practices in corporate governance,” the Bill states.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.