Kenyan passport holders barred from 40 countries

Passport of Kenya

A total 40 countries have barred Kenyan Passport holder from accessing them.

Among the top countries in the list include; Taiwan, Israel, Sweden, Vatican City, South Korea, Singapore, Poland, and Cambodia. Others are Bangladesh, Chile, Czech Republic, Cyprus and Cameroon.

Moreover, the Henley Passport Index, which regularly monitors the world’s most travel-friendly passports since 2006, made the revelations in its final report of 2021, showing how countries are still keen to protect their citizens from new variants of coronavirus.

The countries that have so far removed Kenya passport holders from the list of Covid-19 ban include Ireland, Bulgaria, Canada, Hong Kong, Denmark and the UK. This has helped open up the Kenyan skies and increased activity in the aviation sector.

The development comes at a time Kenya has recorded a sharp increase in cases of Covid-19 infections in recent months, while the number of admissions in health facilities is also increasing.

Additionally, As cases continue to soar with the emergence of the new Omicron variant, about 130 countries, including Kenya, have started implementing booster programmes, according to the World Health Organisation (WHO). So far, 13.218 million booster doses have been administered.

The Kenyan passport also lost its strength in Africa, dropping from the 12th position in October to 32nd in the review.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.