UEFA investigating Juventus, Barca and Real Madrid over European league

Uefa has opened disciplinary proceedings against Barcelona, Juventus and Real Madrid over their involvement in the proposed European Super League.

The clubs were part of the 12 ‘founding’ members of the breakaway league, which later collapsed. The other nine clubs renounced the project but Barcelona, Juventus and Real Madrid have refused to do so.

Uefa said proceedings had been opened against the three “for a potential violation of Uefa’s legal framework”.

Real Madrid president Florentino Perez, who was appointed as chairman of the ESL, recently said that the 12 clubs that agreed to join the project have “binding contracts” and “cannot leave”.

The other nine clubs involved – Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur, AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid have been punished  for their participation.

They have agreed to make a combined 15m euro goodwill contribution to benefit children’s and grassroots football across Europe.

They will also have 5% of Uefa competition revenues withheld for one season, starting in 2023-24, and this money will be redistributed, including in the UK.

UEFA’s move raises the prospect of the three clubs being sanctioned, and they face expulsion from UEFA competitions such as the Champions League for a period of two years.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.