Mark Clattenburg says Hudson-Udoi incident was a clear penalty

March 1st, 2021 Former English premier league referee Mark Clattenburg says he was baffled that Manchester united were not awarded a penalty when Chelsea player Callum Hudson-Udoi appeared to have handled the ball in the box.  

“The Chelsea player’s arm was up in an unnatural position and the ball hit his hand.” Clattenburg said

The Blues winger challenged for a loose ball with Mason Greenwood and the ball bounced up to touch the youngster’s hand. Referee Stuart Attwell was called to the monitor and VAR recommended he award a spot-kick. 

Attwell stuck with his gut and Hudson-Odoi went unpunished, infuriating Ole Gunnar Solskjaer .

Speaking after the game, Solskajer was asked if he understood why United were not awarded the penalty.  

‘Yep. 100%. Not at all,’ he said. ‘When they stop it and he walks across. From here you can see it’s handball, they’re shouting handball against our player. It’s taken two points away from us. 

Solskjaer however admitted his side ultimately did not create enough chances in their dull display in west London, and said while another clean sheet was promising, he was keen for his side to show more killer instinct. 

Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel has backed referee Stuart Attwell’s decision to brush VAR aside and deny Manchester United a penalty .

Tuchel claimed that the ball first hit Mason Greenwood hand before Udoi handled.  

The hosts dominated much of the Stamford Bridge clash but couldn’t find a breakthrough, coming away with a point after a 0-0 draw. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.