President Uhuru Appoints IEBC and TSC nominees

President Uhuru Kenyatta [Photo: The East African]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and the Teacher Service Commission (TSC) nominees approved by Parliament on Wednesday.

The four IEBC nominees; Juliana Whonge Cherera, Francis  Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya were vetted on Wednesday on the 1st of September 2021.

They will be replacing Roselyn Akombe, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and former vice-chair Consolata Maina who resigned.

Those of TSC are Nicodemus Ojuma, Christine Kahindi, Sharon Jelagat, Annceta Wafukho and Salesa Adano.

The nominees are now set to be sworn in by Chief Justice Martha Koome.

President Kenyatta has forwarded their names to the national assembly on the 5th of August for their vetting.

Muturi Ngano, the chair of the justice and legal affairs committee, interviewed the IEBC nominees before presenting the report to be debated by the parliament. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *