Embu Governor elected as Council of Governors chairperson

Jan, 29th 2021 – Embu Governor Martin Wambora has been elected Council of Governors Chairman. Wambora takes over from Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya, who has served in the position, since January 2019.

He becomes the fifth Council of Governors Chairman, after Isaac Ruto Former Bomet Governor, Peter Munya former Meru Governor who is now the Agriculture CS, Josphat Nanok, Turkana Governor and Oparanya.

Deputy Ambassador of Denmark, commended the Council of Governors, for the smooth transmission of power, over the years.

The EU Ambassador to Kenya Simon Mordue congratulated Governor Wambora saying: “The European Union looks forward to engaging the new CoG leadership and offers our support to move the devolution agenda forward. We thank Governor Oparanya and his team for the steady leadership and cooperation during their tenure.”

The election was held at Mövenpick Hotel, Nairobi. Alongside the Chairperson, Kisii Governor James Ongwae was elected as Vice Chairman of the council.

Also present in the event was Resident Representative of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in Kenya, Mr. Walid Badawi. He said, “I congratulate the outgoing leadership of the Council of Governors for a job well done delivering devolution while contending with the greatest challenge of our time: COVID-19. UNDP in Kenya looks forward to working with new leadership.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *