Council of Governors hold elections to replace Chairperson

Jan, 29th 2021 – The Council of Governors is holding its election today with a number of frontrunners to replace current chairperson Wycliffe Oparanya. They include Kirinyaga governor Ann Waiguru, Kisii’s James Ongwae, and Uasin Gishu Governor Jackson Mandago.

Other aspirants of the seat are Governors Charity Ngilu of Kitui, Martin Wambora of Embu, and  Dhadho Godhana Tana River. They emerged after Muranga governor Mwangi Wairia and Makueni’s Kivutha Kibwana pulled out of the race. Ngilu is the second woman to run for the post after Waiguru failed to secure it the last time.

The two said they want to concentrate on their presidential ambitions in 2022. The Chairperson and vice-chairperson of the council of governors can only serve for a term of one year and are eligible for re-election for one more term of one year. They will also be elcting the vice chair, whip and 12 committee chairs after their team ended.

No official list has been released by the CoG secretariat ahead of today’s polls but many of the second term governors who had shown interest to the seat have opted out. Some of them have opted to focus on their county activities more.

They include; Alfred Mutua of Machakos, Ali Roba of Mandera, Kivutha Kibwana of Makueni, Jackson Mandago of Uasin Gishu, Waiguru, Mwangi Wa Iria of Muranga, and Salim Mvurya of Kwale.

Prof. Kibwana said, “I will not be a candidate for CoG elections. As a 2022 presidential candidate, I have been advised by my team that serving in the next CoG executive can constitute a conflict of interest.”

Mr. Mandago however said that he is eyeing the position of Sports committee chair in today’s elections. He said, “We will vote through consensus and arrive at the best candidate. We could even propose a governor and go-ahead to vote for him or her in the meeting tomorrow (today). We will be looking for the best person to lead the CoG for the remainder of the term.”

CoG Chief Executive Officer Jacqueline Mogeni and her team made a series of meetings to plan on the same. She said, “The elections will be held at Movenpick Hotel at 10am. We have so far received applications from three governors running for the chair position, three for vice-chair and one for whip.”

County bosses are seeking to replace Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya who has served his maximum two terms.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *