Feisal Abdallah bags MP seat in Msambweni constituency

Feisal Abdallah Bader [photo: TV47]

Dec, 16th 2020 – Msambweni constituency has chosen Feisal Abdallah Bader as their Member of parliament from the scheduled parliamentary by-elections yesterday. The election results have been an acid test for Kilifi governor Salim Mvurya and his Mombasa counterpart Ali Hassan Joho who had shown great support for two other candidates.

IEBC tally showed that Feisal had 15,251 votes against Boga’s 10,444 votes from all the 129 polling stations. The by-election arose following the death of Suleiman Dori.

Wiper’s Abdurahman Sheikh came in third with 790 votes, then Marere wa Mwachai Mwarapayo of NVP with 300 and Hamisi Mwakaonje Liganje of UGM with 230 votes.

Other candidates include Charles Bambo Bilali (Independent) with 135 votes, Ali Hassan Mwakulonda (PED) with 107 votes, Mansury Kumaka Abdulrahman (Independent) with 38 and Sharlet Akinyi Onyango(Independent) with 18.

In the constituency, the number of registered voters are 69,003 as the by-election attracted 39.58 percent turnout. The by-election was a battle between DP William Ruto and ODM Leader Raila Odinga.

Despite the low voter turnout, some politicians and agents were arrested for voter bribery allegations, pockets of violence as viral groups clashed and missing names in the voter register.

There has been speculation that President Uhuru Kenyatta was supporting the ODM candidate while Ruto supported Barder as part of a strategy to test his political clout at the coast.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *