France Football announces its star-studded Ballon d’Or ‘Dream Team’

[photo: Daily Mail]

Dec, 15th 2020 – France Football has announced their star-studded Ballon d’Or ‘Dream Team’ at this year’s ceremony after this year’s Ballon d’Or award was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

France Football, the weekly magazine that created the award, opted to instead announce a best XI in its place. Journalists from 170 countries cast their votes on who would make the team, which sees the team line up in a 3-4-3 formation.

In goal, Russia’s legendary goalkeeper Lev Yashin was named in between the sticks, cementing his legacy as arguably the greatest No 1 of all time.

Yashin, who won the Ballon d’Or in 1963 and remains as the only goalkeeper in history to win it, made 74 appearances for the Soviet Union between 1954 and 1970.In front of him, a back-three of Franz Beckenbauer, Cafu and Paolo Maldini make up the rock-solid defence.  

In front of them, Xavi, Lothar Matthaus, Pele and the late great Diego Maradona made up the four-man midfield. Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Ronaldo Nazario were announced as the team’s lethal front three.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *