President Uhuru Signs Bill To Give Counties Ksh 369 Billion

President Uhuru Kenyatta while signing into law the 2020/2021 County Revenue Allocation Bill.

Oct 8th 2020 – President Uhuru Kenyatta has signed into law the 2020/2021 County Revenue Allocation Bill, paving the way for the disbursement of  funds to the Counties.

Presented to the Head of State by the Speaker of the Senate, Ken Lusaka, in a ceremony attended by Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi, and Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yattani, the bill allocates a sum of 369.87 billion shillings in the current fiscal year to Counties and includes 316.5 billion shillings of Equitable Share, and Kshs 13.73 billion in Conditional Grants.

The conditional allocation will be utilized in provision of services, such as, leasing of medical equipment and rehabilitation of youth polytechnics, across all the 47 Counties. 

The signing of the bill comes after a protracted battle, in senate, over the allocation formula, that starved counties funds leading to a near close down, of the devolved units. 

Amongst those who attended the ceremony, are, the Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua,  National Assembly Clerk – Michael Sialai, Senate Clerk  Jeremiah Nyegenye, Solicitor General Ken Ogeto, and the State House Deputy Chief of Staff Njee Muturi.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *