Goalkeeper Origi joins the national team

Goalkeeper Arnold Origi [Photo: Capital Sports]

Sept 29th, 2020 – Harambee Stars coach Francis Kimanzi has recalled goalkeeper Arnold Origi of HIFK Fotboll in Finland, to the national team after a four years absence.

Earlier in May, Kenyans were anxiously waiting to see whether Kimanzi will consider the player, when he names the next squad for qualifiers, with the player affirming that would deliver if selected to join Harambee Stars.

It’s always a dream to play for my country. If the coach thinks I’m good enough I will honor the call-up. Of course, I want to achieve more with the national team and there is still time for that because I’m still actively playing and not planning to stop any time soon,” said Origi.

Origi last featured for the stars in a 1-0 loss to Guinea. The player will be joined by fellow keepers Ian Otieno of Zesco united and Timothy Odhiambo of Ulinzi stars.

Goalkeeper Patrick Matasi misses out on the initial squad after featuring for the stars in most qualifiers including the AFCON in Egypt.

Coach Kimanzi is preparing the team for an upcoming friendly match against Zambia in Nairobi on the 10th of October.

Clarke Oduor of Championship side Barnsley and Masoud Juma of JS Kabylie have also been included in the 34-man squad.

The match will be played without fans due to the ongoing Ministry of Health (MoH) COVID-19 guidelines.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Arnold Origi (HIFK, Finland), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars) and Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia).

Defenders: Joash Onyango (Simba, Tanzania), Badi Baraka (KCB), Joseph Okumu (Elfsborg, Sweden), Harun Shakava (Nkana, Zambia), Clarke Oduor (Barnsley, England), Hillary Wandera (Tusker), Brian Mandela (unattached), Samuel Olwande (Sharks), David Owino (Mathare), Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Collins Shichenje (Leopards), Andrew Juma (Gor), Philemon Otieno (Gor).

Midfielders: , Victor Wanyama (Impact Montreal, Canada), Francis Kahata (Simba), Eric Johanna (Jonkoping’s Sodra IF, Sweden), Cliff Nyakeya (Masr FC, Egypt), Johanna Omolo (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, Antony Akumu (Kaizer Chiefs South Africa), China), Kenneth Muguna (Gor), Brian Musa (Wazito), Lawrence Juma (Gor), Katana Mohamed (Isloch, Belarus), Austin Otieno (AFC).

Forwards: Timothy Otieno (NAPSA Stars), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Masud Juma (JS Kabylie, Algeria), John Avire (Tanta FC, Egypt), Elvis Rupia (Leopards), and Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars).

Reserve Team: Benson Omala (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Stephen Otieno (Sofapaka, Kenya), Michael Mutinda (KCB), Robert Mboya (Tusker, Kenya),Ibrahim Shambi (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya) Chrispinus Onyango (Tusker, Kenya.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *